//
you're reading...
Aduio Books, Audio Books, Author Interviews, Authors, blogging, Books, e-books, e-reader, independent publishing, personal goal, Publishing, tablet computers, Uncategorized, Writing

Katharine Ashe – Interview Part One 2-16-15

 

2015 Pamlico Writers Conference and Competition

March 21, 2015 8:30am to 6pm

The Turnage Theatre

150 W. Main Street, Washington, NC 27889

Katharine Ashe - full headshot      2015

 

 

 

 

Katharine Ashe  www.KatharineAshe.com

Today post will be an interview with talented author Katharine Ashe. Ms. Ashe will be presenting an afternoon breakaway session, “Writing Inside a Genre Yet Outside the Box.” This workshop is intended for writers at all stages of the writing adventure and will be filled with information and fun for those who attend.

KatKatharine Ashe - I Loved a Rogueharine Ashe is the award-winning author of historical romances that    reviewers call “intensely lush” and “sensationally intelligent,” including How to Be a Proper Lady, an Amazon Editors’ Choice for the 10 Best Books of the Year in Romance, and How to Marry a Highlander, 2014 finalist for the prestigious RITA® Award of the Romance Writers of America. Her books are recommended by Publishers Weekly, Women’s World Magazine, Booklist, Library Journal, Barnes & Noble, the Raleigh News & Observer, and many others, and translated into languages across the world.

KathaKatharine Ashe - I Married the Dukerine lives in the wonderfully warm Southeast with her beloved husband, son, dog, and a garden she likes to call romantic rather than unkempt. A professor of European History at Duke University, she writes fiction because she thinks modern readers deserve grand adventures and breathtaking sensuality too. For more about Katharine’s books, please visit www.KatharineAshe.com or write to her at PO Box 51702, Durham, NC 27717.

Katharine Ashe - I Adored a Lord

 

 

 

Q.    Your fans know that you are a Professor of History at Duke University. Does this influence your novels or does your writing influence your teaching?

A.    My love of scholarly history strongly influences the fiction I write. I’m not an antiquarian; I don’t love history for history’s sake, I don’t want to live “back then”, and I’m not enamored of the minutiae of historical daily life (though I certainly find it interesting). I study and teach history because I believe that in understanding what people have done in the past, what they have valued, and the mistakes they’ve made as well as the victories they have achieved, we can learn to become more humane, just and compassionate individuals and societies today. I write genre romance, which means that my stories are about a single hero and heroine’s love story, emphasizing the development of the love relationship, the conflicts that divide the hero and heroine, and the solutions that they come to individually and together and lead to their shared Happily Ever After. But I typically draw these stories upon a broader canvas of societal conflict. The lovers I write struggle with personal demons and misunderstandings, but they also confront societal challenges like racism, hunger, poverty, sexism, violence and other injustices. I write romance because I adore writing love stories, but they’re always embedded in larger themes.

Q.    I love the fact that your heroines are strong women. Are they based on women in your life?

A.    Thank you! My heroines possess the qualities I most admire in women I know—intelligence, creativity, independence, loyalty, honesty, an adventuresome spirit, and a loving heart—as well as strengths in women I admire from a distance. At least one of my heroines drew her most endearing qualities from my mother, and I’ve named a few of my heroines after my sisters.

Q.   You say that your younger sister was your first fan. Was she the one who encouraged you to follow your writing dream?

A.   Yes, as well as my parents and my older sisters and brother, and some friends as well—from the time I was a little girl. My husband and son are entirely supportive too. As most writers know, writing isn’t a particularly easy career. Writing genre romance is especially dicey for a writer who’s social and professional milieu doesn’t respect the genre, and sometimes loudly condemns it. I’ve been blessed with the support of my loved ones all through my writing journey. I can’t imagine how writers that don’t have support manage to keep their chins up and fingers typing, and I raise a glass in admiration of them.

Q.   Romance often is treated with a lack of respect; have you ever felt the need or desire to defend your choice of writing genre?

A.   For years I didn’t tell anyone other than my family and closest friends that I wrote romance. Now I’m entirely open about my career as a romance author. But I’m not so much interested in defending romance fiction, rather in teaching and discussing the history of the denigration of romance fiction, especially fiction written by women, for female authors and romance novels written by women have historically borne the lion’s share of condemnation from critics of the genre, even when their male counterparts wrote similar novels. This fascinates and disturbs me, especially since it’s still happening today. I’m currently co-teaching a course on this at Duke University, with romance author and Professor Laura Florand. This spring we’re also hosting a speaker’s series titled “UNSUITABLE” (http://sites.duke.edu/unsuitable/) in which we address the history of the industry, models of femininity and masculinity in romance fiction, and other topics that get at the roots of the prejudice against the genre.

Q.   Even if I do not write Historical Romance, what might I learn from your session that would help me be a better writer?

A.   I adore a deeply researched novel of any sort—historical novel, crime thriller, military adventure, cozy mystery, epic fantasy, or what have you. The more intricate and interesting the details of that novel’s world, the deeper I sink into the story. But it drives me crazy when I read a novel and can practically see the author sitting at a table in a library surrounded by massive tomes and cramming “research”, or consuming entire research websites, only to regurgitate it onto the page for the reader to swallow whole. Rich complexity in a novel is crucial to me, but too much dry detail on the page snatches me right out of a story. In my session I’ll talk about how I develop and write a fast-paced, character-based story that is thoroughly grounded in research but doesn’t ever get lost in it.

By Sherri Hollister

 For more information on or about the
2015 Pamlico Writers Conference or Competition
visit our website at:
www.pamlicowritersconference.org
And follow us on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/pwconference2015
or check us out on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/PamlicoWritersC

21 days (March 8, 2015) left before our writing competition entry deadline. If you’re still working on your entry(s) you’ll need to hurry. For details and rules for the writing competition entries as well as a complete list of planned events and workshops for the conference, visit our website at www.pamlicowritersconference.org . Hurry and get those pieces ready and entered soon so they’ll be elligible.

If you haven’t already registered for the conference you’ll need to do so soon so you can reserve a seat in whichever workshops you’re planning to attend before they are filled.

Register early. Register soon.

About Pamlico Writers Group

This is a publication of the Pamlico Writers Group, created to help promote and advance writers skills along with expanding our groups membership and reach. Our aim on this site is to keep you our readers and participants aware of upcoming events. Topics covered during the year will be news regarding our annual Pamlico Writers Conference and Competition, co-sponsored with Arts of the Pamlico, discussion of and from our conferences, participants and group news. PWG's Steering Committee has finalized details for our 5th Annual Pamlico Writers Conference on March 17 & 18th, 2017 at The Turnage Theatre, 150 W. Main St., Washington, NC. This year's theme is "Words," Image and Story". Our Friday night keynote speaker this year will be Author, Teacher, Speaker, and Director of Lavenson Studios, Zelda Lockhart. For more information on Ms. Lockhart visit her website at: http://www.zeldalockhart.com/. For a complete schedule of Friday night and Saturday events, go to our website at: https://www.pamlicowritersgroup.wildapricot.org/. Be sure to check back often for more details of this and other events we have planned. The companion juried writing competition submissions opened on January 1, 2017. Winners are announced and an awards ceremony will be held during our Friday night Kick-Off Event. If you'd like more information on guidelines for entries, please go to our website: https://www.pamlicowritersgroup.wildapricot.org/ All registrations for both conference and/or entry into the competition will be made through our web site: https://www.pamlicowritersgroup.wildapricot.org/. Again, see site for complete details. Thank you for visiting! We hope to see you again soon. **If you are a writer interested in finding a critique group or other writers, we encourage you to come and join us. If you life at a distance please don't let that diswade you, we have several members who participate predominately on-line. Our meetings are the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 pm here in Washington, NC at the Turnage Theatre. We would love to hear from you regarding comments or ideas you have for the group. This blog is authored by members of our writer's group. Thank you for stopping by. See you soon, Kaylene Wilson Program Coordinator

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,065 other followers

