//
you're reading...
Author Interviews, Authors, blogging, Books, e-books, e-reader, Publishing, tablet computers, Uncategorized, Writing

Why I joined a writing critique group.

Why I Joined a Writers Critique Group and What I’ve Gotten Out of it.

Sherri Hollister 3

 

Sherri Hollister

The first time I read my work in front of a group it felt as if I were standing naked in the middle of Walmart parking lot shouting “Look at me!” It felt like my stomach was in my throat. How I managed to read the words swimming past my eyes with my hands shaking and my tongue stumbling over my teeth, I don’t know.

I don’t know what I said that night but I do remember the response of the other writers. They were encouraging and interested in my story. While I needed the validation at this early stage of my writing, a reason to believe in myself and keep going, it was the things I learned that brought me back. I learned that reading my words out loud to other people helped me hear the pacing and flow of the story. I was able to pick out mistakes and redundancies I’d overlooked reading it aloud to myself.

Even though I am blessed to have a supportive and encouraging husband, family and friends who are willing to help me with research, plotting and editing, they do not understand the writer’s struggle. Only another writer can truly empathize with what a writer goes through to bring a piece of work to maturity. Writing is a solitary life. We plot, we write and we edit alone. Being a part of a group of writers gives us a chance to share, encourage and learn.

I am a member of several writers’ groups each has furthered my writing career, but it is from my local groups that have received the one on one attention I needed to allow my writing to evolve. By having intimate critique groups, you can devote more attention to helping each other grow and develop and ready a piece for publishing. While the job of a critique group isn’t to edit, they can be the first line of offense by alerting the writer to character or scene inconsistencies, flaws in plotting or details, and comprehending the theme and arc of the story.

I have found in the larger group settings I get a broader idea of the writing life. How each of us juggles careers, families and social obligations with our writing careers. How we write and prepare for writing. What works for one but doesn’t for another. Places to find needed information and research sites. Genre expectations, rules and faux pas. How to write query letters or prepare an elevator pitch. The craft of writing, editing, plotting, character development and how to get your work published. I enjoy the larger groups for their diversity. The online classes I’ve taken through Romance Writers of America and the Heart of Carolina Romance Writers would have cost hundreds of dollars through other venues. The workshops I’ve attended through Romantic Times, Heart of Carolina and Pamlico Writers have honed my talent and given me the needed skills to continue my writing journey.

I recently acquired an agent after about fifty some odd rejections. The faith of my mentor and friend, Marni Graff led me to an agent who took the time to point out what didn’t work for the genre and for her. When I received a letter of interest from Holloway Literary Agents, I was in the middle of editing those problems and waited until I was able to send them a cleaner version of the story. It is that process writing and rewriting, learning and applying that has brought a good story through puberty and onto the publishing stage.

While writing might be a solitary endeavor, it is through sharing and learning from other writers that we expand our talent and focus our dream. I could not have come this far without the encouragement and lessons of my fellow writers.

by Sherri Hollister

About Pamlico Writers Group

This is a publication of the Pamlico Writers Group, created to help promote and advance writers skills along with expanding our groups membership and reach. Our aim on this site is to keep you our readers and participants aware of upcoming events. Topics covered during the year will be news regarding our annual Pamlico Writers Conference and Competition, co-sponsored with Arts of the Pamlico, discussion of and from our conferences, participants and group news. PWG's Steering Committee has finalized details for our 5th Annual Pamlico Writers Conference on March 17 & 18th, 2017 at The Turnage Theatre, 150 W. Main St., Washington, NC. This year's theme is "Words," Image and Story". Our Friday night keynote speaker this year will be Author, Teacher, Speaker, and Director of Lavenson Studios, Zelda Lockhart. For more information on Ms. Lockhart visit her website at: http://www.zeldalockhart.com/. For a complete schedule of Friday night and Saturday events, go to our website at: https://www.pamlicowritersgroup.wildapricot.org/. Be sure to check back often for more details of this and other events we have planned. The companion juried writing competition submissions opened on January 1, 2017. Winners are announced and an awards ceremony will be held during our Friday night Kick-Off Event. If you'd like more information on guidelines for entries, please go to our website: https://www.pamlicowritersgroup.wildapricot.org/ All registrations for both conference and/or entry into the competition will be made through our web site: https://www.pamlicowritersgroup.wildapricot.org/. Again, see site for complete details. Thank you for visiting! We hope to see you again soon. **If you are a writer interested in finding a critique group or other writers, we encourage you to come and join us. If you life at a distance please don't let that diswade you, we have several members who participate predominately on-line. Our meetings are the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 pm here in Washington, NC at the Turnage Theatre. We would love to hear from you regarding comments or ideas you have for the group. This blog is authored by members of our writer's group. Thank you for stopping by. See you soon, Kaylene Wilson Program Coordinator

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,064 other followers

